COSC 2425 Banner Image
COSC 2425
Computer Organization
Instructor: David Kirk
Spring 2021  March 22 - May 13
 
Assembly Online Book
Chapter 1 - Logic Gates
Chapter 2 - CPU Instruction Cycle
Chapter 3 - x86 CPU
Chapter 4 - Data Representation
Chapter 5 - Memory
Chapter 7 - Assembly & Hello World
Chapter 8 - Variables, printf, scanf
Chapter 9 - Data Movement (mov)
Chapter 10 - Arithmetic
Chapter 11 - Bitwise Operations
Chapter 12 - Control Flow
Chapter 13 - Stack, Call and Return
Chapter 14 - Calling C Functions
Resources
How to install fasm on Windows  |  Flat Assembler Download  |  Flat Assembler Documentation  | x86 Assembly Guide (MASM)
Floating Point Converter  |  Bitwise Calculator  |  Syntax Highlighter

Download Code::Blocks - select codeblocks-17.12mingw-setup.exe
How to run C++ and Java programs on Mac with TextMate


primes1.txt randomized unsorted file with the first 100,000 prime numbers
primes4.txt randomized unsorted file with the first 1,000,000 prime numbers

names.txt 1000 first names
Class Calendar - last updated May 10, 2021
Week 1
Monday March 22
Virtual Class 10:00am
Discuss Syllabus

Discuss how CPU's are designed and manufactured:
How a computer chip is created from sand to CPU
How CPU's are Made as Fast as Possible
Making Memory Chips by Micron

Discuss Logic Gates (chapter 1)

Download Logisim or use logic.ly

Discuss CPU Instruction Cycle (chapter 2)

Discuss x86 CPU (chapter 3)

Week 1
Wednesday March 24
Virtual Class 10:00am

Discuss Data Representation (chapter 4)

Discuss Homework 1

Homework 1 Due March 27

Week 2
Monday March 29
Virtual Class 10:00am
Discuss Memory (chapter 5)
Discuss Assembly (chapter 7)

Week 2
Wednesday March 31
Virtual Class 10:00am

Discuss Variables (chapter 8)

Discuss Homework 2

Homework 2 Due April 3

Week 3
Monday April 5
Virtual Class 10:00am
Discuss Data Movement (chapter 9)
Discuss Arithmetic (chapter 10)

How to install fasm on Windows

Week 3
Wednesday April 7
Virtual Class 10:00am
Discuss Homework 3

Homework 3 Due April 10

Exam 1 Due April 11:  Chapters 1 - 8
Week 4
Monday April 12
Virtual Class 10:00am
Discuss Bitwise Operations (chapter 11)

Week 4
Wednesday April 14
Virtual Class 10:00am

Discuss Control Flow (chapter 12)

Discuss Homework 4


Homework 4 Due April 17
Week 5
Monday April 19
Virtual Class 10:00am
Discuss Stack (chapter 13)

Week 5
Wednesday April 21
Virtual Class 10:00am

Discuss Homework 5

Homework 5 Due April 24
Week 6
Monday April 26
Virtual Class 10:00am
Discuss Homework 6

Week 6
Wednesday April 28
Virtual Class 10:00am

Homework 6 Due May 1

April 28, 2021 is the last day to Withdraw
Week 7
Monday May 3
Virtual Class 10:00am
Discuss Homework 7
Week 7
Wednesday May 5
Virtual Class 10:00am
Discuss Homework 7
Week 8
Monday May 10
Virtual Class 10:00am
Discuss Homework 7

Week 8
Wednesday May 12
Virtual Class 10:00am

Presentations of Homework 7

Homework 7 Due May 11

Exam 2 Due May 12:  Chapters 1 - 14